History repeats itself during the UCL Finals

UCL Finals 2020-21

Yesterday, Bayern Munich and Paris Saint-German had a faceoff with each team eyeing the UCL trophy. Due to the global pandemic, COVID-19, the season came to a stop around March. However, the break lasted for approximately 150 days before resuming in August. Its finals took place on 23rd August in Libson, Portugal.

Among the teams that qualified for the finals was Bayern Munich. Its lineup included Neuer, Thiago Alcantara, Lewandowski, Boateng, Goretzka, Davies, Gnabry, Muller, Alaba, Coman, and Kimmich. The other team was Paris which also had its power team. The players included Herrera, Bernat, Di Maria, Neymar, Paredes, Mbappe, Marquinhos, Kehrer, Kimpembe, Thiago Silva and Navas.

The two teams had the potential to emerge the winners. Bayern Munich had Robert Lewandowski whereas Paris had Kylian Mbappe and Neymar. They are among the best forwards in the entire world. Surprisingly though, not even a single goal was scored during the first half. The problem with breaking that deadlock was a clear indication of the strengths of the two teams.

Fortunately, Bayern Munich broke the tie. It saw Coman score a goal with the help of a header and the assistance of Kimmich. Not even Navas could stop Bayern from scoring its first goal of the match. On the other hand, Paris couldn’t equalize. That’s how the game ended with a 0-1 win in favor of FC Bayern Munich.

Bayern win UCL Finals
source: dw

Nevertheless, one must admit the team winning the UCL championship didn’t come as a surprise. First of all, the team remained almost undefeated throughout the 2019-2020 season. To be specific, out of the 12 Champions League matches, it only lost 1 of them. It defeated the likes of Lyon, Barcelona, and Chelsea. Secondly, it has won the European title before.

Throughout the match, it was clear that Manuel Neuer was amazing. From the word go, the entire team was all in. That’s not something you can say about Paris given the fact that its first presence in court was felt 8 minutes into the game courtesy of Neymar.

History repeats itself

It is not the first time that the Bayern Munich team is winning the title. Its very first win was during the 1973-74 league. After that, it became more of a tradition to them. The team ended up winning the other two consecutive titles for the 1974-75 and 1975-76 titles. Nevertheless, that did not happen again for a long time. As a matter of fact, they didn’t win again until the 2000-01 UCL. The next win was the 2012-13 season. Last but not least is the most recent win of the 2019-20 season. So, history repeated itself during the 2019-20 UCL finals when Bayern Munich clinched the UEFA Champions League Title for the 6th time.

It must really be a good feeling for the team and fans of Bayern Munich. Until next season for yet another incredible UEFA Champions League season. It is always thrilling to watch the knockouts up until there are only two teams left. Then the finals happen and the best team wins. No wonder almost everyone is looking forward to the 2020-21 season.

2 thoughts on “History repeats itself during the UCL Finals”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *